Uncategorized

Everlasting Life

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son that whoever believes in him will not perish but have everlasting life. –John 3:16

The other day, I was talking with someone about my walk with Christ, and they asked me, “How long have you been a believer?” After doing some dreadful mental math, I told them about how I became a Christian when I was in the fifth grade, eleven years old. Now, as a 21 year old (22 in October!!), I have been a Christian for a little over ten years (crazy!). After our conversation I started to think about my ten years of being a follower of Christ and how I’ve grown in my walk with him. I started to meditate on my failures and stumbles, and I praised God for his goodness and faithfulness through it all.

One thing that kept coming up in my trip down memory lane was the idea of eternal, or everlasting life. If I’m being honest, when I first became a Christian, one of the main reasons I walked down the aisle and accepted him into my life was that I was afraid of hell. I had heard stories of how bad hell was going to be and if I’m being honest, heaven seemed like the better option. As an eleven year old, the “biggest sin” I had ever committed was lying to my mom on whether or not I forgot to turn the faucet off (lying is a sin and it’s bad…just like other sins!) But I had no idea what Jesus was saving me from, only that I needed saving from damnation. And I had no idea what it meant to have everlasting life.

Fast forward ten years, I have learned a lot about what it means to have everlasting life in Christ. I still rejoice in the fact that one day, after I die, I will get to spend eternity face to face with my Savior and Lord, but I think that everlasting life is much more than that. Salvation is more than just a get out of hell free card. Having life in Christ isn’t just about going to heaven. As followers of Christ, we get to experience life now.

I am the door. If anyone enters by Me, he will be saved and will come in and go out and find pasture. A thief comes only to steal, to kill, and to destroy. I have come so that they may have life and have it in abundance. –John 10:9-10

The term life in Scripture doesn’t just refer to the life we have after we die, but it refers to our lives now and how we live our lives now. The truth is we live in a messed up world. We live in a world that is plagued by corruption, hate, and injustice. There is war, famine, death, and disease. The perfect world God created so long ago is broken. But the gospel is the good news that despite our brokenness, Jesus offers us life. He doesn’t just offer us life with him after we die, but we get to experience life with him right now at this very minute through the Holy Spirit. He gives us peace, a plan, and a purpose. Everlasting life can begin now!

Today, I was reading the story of the Samaritan woman in John 4. When Jesus asks her for a drink, he tells her, “Whoever drinks from the water I will give him will never get thirsty again–ever! In fact, the water I will give him will become a well of water springing up within him for eternal life.”(John 4:14)

If you do not know Christ today, I want to tell you the great news of how the offer still stands. Like long ago at a well in a Samaritan town, Jesus is calling you to come and drink. Come and drink from the fountain. Come drink the water Christ offers you. It is only through Christ can you experience life in abundance. Come, drink, and experience the life God wants for you. Come, be washed clean and made new. Come experience peace and fulfillment.  Come, drink from the well, and have everlasting life.

 

Song: TESTIFY by NeedtoBreathe (Check it out at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CDcYsyx2mCg) Great song!! I have been jamming out to it all summer!

Leave a Reply

