Uncategorized

The Writing Desk Review

First and foremost, a huge THANK YOU to NetGalley and Thomas Nelson for the advanced electronic ARC in exchange for a review! Y’all are awesome!!

untitled (87)

The Writing Desk was my first Rachel Hauck book, and it did not disappoint. This Christian romance tells the story of two young women from two different times periods that are woven uniquely together. On one hand, one story is of Tenley Roth, the daughter of a best selling author. After her debut novel is a smashing hit, she struggles under the weight of a looming deadline when her publishers ask her for her next hit novel. When her estranged mother asks her to come to Florida for the summer to help her with chemotherapy and she obliges, Tenley meets Jonas and her life is turned upside down. On the other hand, Birdie Sheborn is an aristocrat in 1903. She dreams of becoming a best selling author. Her family has other plans. Plans that involve her marrying a man she does not love. When an old flame reenters her life, her world gets turned upside down. I really liked the two different worlds,and I thought the author did a good job of weaving them together.

The Good.

The best thing about this book was the characters. I am the type of person that believes you can have the best storyline in the world, but if your characters are flat, I won’t enjoy it. These characters were fun to read. They were funny and relatable. I especially liked Tenley and Jonas. Their chemistry and banter between one another was enjoyable to read.

Another good thing about this book was the semi-suspense. I did a good deal of putting on my detective hat while reading, trying to figure out how in the world the two stories intersect. I would get frustrated when I thought I had it all figured out, only to be wrong. It was fun.

I loved that the book centered around the art of writing. Both main characters were inspiring writers. There was an emphasis on the art of writing. And not just any writing, but creative writing. Coming up with stories and characters. It talked about publishing and book tours and reviewers. I liked reading about that world, both in present day and in 1903.

The bad.

My main critique of the book that it could be cheesy at times, especially toward the end. I won’t go into details because this a spoiler free review, but towards the end of the book, there were several cheesy parts. Not enough where I disliked the book because of it, but it was a little disappointing considering the otherwise beautiful story.

Faith

Because this book  is considered Christian fiction, what about the faith element? What does the book say about Jesus and how does the themes in the novel compare to the Christian walk?

One of the major themes in the book was God’s presence. God’s plan and his hand in our lives. The characters, like many of us, go through things in their lives that they don’t understand. The characters sing, “Do not be dismayed, you don’t have to worry or be afraid.” No matter what we are going through, whether we can see God in it or not, he is there through it all. His presence is always with us.

Though I do wish this book would have mentioned God a little more, I do think the author portrayed the theme of God’s presence and his call for his followers to obey him really well. It wasn’t too preachy and instead focused on telling the theme throughout the narrative.

 

Overall, I enjoyed this book, giving it a 3/5 stars on GoodReads. You can check out my GoodReads here:https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2045617840.Again, thank you to NetGalley and Thomas Nelson for the ARC! The Writing Desk by Rachel Hauck goes on sell July 11th! If you’ve read this book or anything by Rachel Hauck, let me know in the comments below about your experience! I’d love for more book recommendations!!Thank you friends for reading, and I pray you have a blessed day –Krystal:)

Leave a Reply

