Uncategorized

Who am I? Review for Hello My Name is by Matthew West

Who am I?

It is one of the most basic questions that we ask ourselves. From a very young age, we are taught the importance of finding who we are and our place in the crazy world we live in. There are many places where people find their identity.

I am white.

I am female.

I am Baptist.

I am an American.

I am a college student.

I am a Christian Studies major.

I am a reader and a writer and someone who loves cheesy Romantic Comedies.

We live in a society today that is pushing us this way and that, trying to dictate how we see our identity. We are told who we are and what should be important to our core being.

I’m not saying that all these things are not important. I think that many people get it wrong when they say that they aren’t. These things (female, college student, American, etc.), they are a part of my identity. They are a part of who God made me to be.

But they aren’t the foundation.

All those led by God’s Spirit are God’s sons. For you did not receive a spirit of slavery to fall back into fear, but you received the Spirit of adoption, by whom we cry out “Abba Father!” The Spirit Himself testifies together with our spirit that we are God’s children, and if children, also heirs–heirs of God, and coheirs with Christ–seeing that we suffer with Him so that we may also be glorified with Him. –Romans 8:14-17

My foundation of my identity, the very core of who I am and how I see the world, rests with that I am in Christ. Everything else reflects that and everything points to it. The very essence of who I am is in who Christ is and what he has done.

In the new book, Hello My Name Is, singer/songwriter Matthew West examines all the false “name tags” we put on, whether it is from society, Satan, or even from ourselves, and  celebrates in our identities in Jesus Christ. He encourages us to discover and then proclaim the truth of who we are. We are children of the Almighty Yahweh! We are sons and daughters of the one True King!!

I personally have always loved Matthew West; he is one of my favorite musicians. This is the first book I’ve read by him, and I loved it! It was funny, relatable, and saturated with so much biblical truth. YOU should definitely check it out!!

A big THANK YOU to Worthy Publishing and NetGalley for allowing me to have an advanced galley, and an opportunity to read the book early!  Hello My Name is hits stores April 18th!!

If you are interested in reading more about my opinions or what others are saying about Hello My Name is or you want to check out what I’m currently reading, you can check my GoodReads in the links below!!

Thank you so much for reading!! And don’t forget that you can follow me on Twitter, Facebook, and Pinterest in the links to the left! God bless!

–Krystal:)

review: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1877500027?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1

GoodReads profile: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/39182987-krystal-parker

 

 

Leave a Reply

