Uncategorized

Missing Home

This week has been a rough one.

I currently live and go to college  four hours away from my hometown, and right now, I don’t have a car, so basically, I’m kind of stuck where I am. For the most part, it isn’t that bad living away from home. I have made great friends here at school, most of whom cannot go home very often (so we’re in this together) and I love my school. It truly has become my second home.

But there are weeks like this week where I am deeply missing my home. I miss my family, who I haven’t seen since after New Year’s, and I don’t know when I am going to get to see them again. You probably know all about this feeling. It’s a feeling I know all too well.

Homesickness.

I know that it will pass eventually, but it can really dampen your day.

I have asked one thing from the LORD; it is what I desire; to dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, gazing on the beauty of the LORD, and seeking Him in His temple. — Psalm 27: 4-5

As much as I miss home, and crave the company and familiarity of my family, it got me thinking of how as Christians, we desire to be in community with others. When we are not with our friends and family, we miss them.

God is the same way with us. He desires for us to be in relationship, in community with Him. He wants us to actively seek Him. And I think that when we turn from Him, He even misses us.

You have probably heard the cheesy saying, “This world is not our home,” and as cheesy as the saying is, it is true! Not only is heaven real, but our true home is with the presence of God, which because of the Holy Spirit, we can have been given access to here and now. That was God’s design from the very beginning, in the Garden of Eden. We were created to live in His presence. As Christians, we should always desire more of God. Like David, our desire should always be to be in the presence of the Almighty God. We should continue to seek Him, and should always want more of Him. I don’t know about any of you, but the closer I feel to God, the more I realize of my need to get even closer to Him. The closer I get, the more I need just…well, more of Him.

So, what about those who are reading this and are “homesick”? Those who want to seek after God more or be more intentional in their walk with Jesus?

Trust me, I’ve been there, and I can give you a list of tips, but I’ll save that for another post. Basically, it comes down to one thing:

Daily Quiet Time.

I know that I probably sound like an annoying Sunday School teacher on a broken record, shouting, “READ YOUR BIBLE!” But listen to the Sunday School teacher. It’s the truth. I truly believe the best way to seek after the presence of God is to be diligent in His word, and to be more intentional with our quiet times. According to Scripture, the Bible is God’s revelation to us. He reveals Himself in His word and shows us His greatness, His ways.

But don’t just read God’s word. Study it. Meditate on it. Do it!! His word should become not only our manual, but our lifeline.

Quiet time is not just read a few verses and we’re done. It’s about taking time out of our days and going before the Lord with Scripture and prayer. Prayer is extremely important, and to be honest, it is something that I sometimes rush through because I forget the importance of it. In prayer, we go directly to the throne of God. How cool is that? Let me repeat it: We go directly into the presence of God. Prayer is not something to be rushed through or taken lightly, but it is communication with the Almighty God, a welcoming into His presence.

 

My prayer is that like David, my desire would be to continually seek after God’s face. I want to long to be in His temple, in His presence. Because that is my home. I was created to be in community with the Father, the Almighty God.

 

Do you sometimes feel “homesick” for God’s presence? What do you do in your daily quiet times? Let me know what you think in the comments below! God bless.

–Krystal 🙂

Leave a Reply

