Uncategorized

When God Tells You to Be Still

Do you ever have those periods in your life where it seems like nothing is going for you? Do you ever feel like rejection is around every corner and no matter what you do, life continues to knock you down?

Well, I do, and in fact, I’m in that period right now.

I submitted two stories to two different magazines to be published. One came back with a no, and the other one hasn’t responded, but it seems like that one is probably also going to be a rejection letter.

This week I haven’t been doing that great in my school work. (Mom, if you’re reading this–no, I am not failing; yes, I’m doing the work; don’t worry I have time to make it up.).

The book I am currently writing (well, outlining…but that’s for another blog post) has slowly been going downhill, and I honestly feel like I don’t know what I’m doing.

I know that I am doing what God wants me to do, but I feel like I’m standing still, slowly digging my feet deeper and deeper into the same spot I have been in forever. And the worse part is it feels like everyone around me is moving full speed ahead, doing great things for Jesus and achieving their dreams. But here I am in the same spot I’ve been in for a while.

God, don’t you want me to move? Don’t you want me to do things for you?   Why is that you have called everyone to move around me, but you have me standing still? When do I get to move?

And God whispers, “Be still, daughter. And wait until I tell you to move.”

As I think about this concept of being still and waiting on the Lord, I am reminded of the disciples in the book of Acts.

Sometimes God will call us to wait (and that’s okay!).

While He was together with them, He commanded them not to leave Jerusalem, but to wait for the Father’s promise. “This,” He said, “is what you have heard from Me, for John baptized with water, but you will be baptized with the Holy Spirit not many days from now. So when they had come together, they asked him, “Lord, are you restoring the kingdom to Israel at this time?” He said to them, “It is not for you to know times or periods that the Father has set by His own authority. But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come on you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, in all of Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.” –Acts 1:4-9

Abraham waited to have a son.

Jacob waited fourteen years to marry Rachel.

David waited to be king of Israel after being anointed.

Israel waited in exile before being allowed back into the land.

Jesus himself waited for thirty years before beginning his ministry.

The disciples waited in Jerusalem for the coming of the Holy Spirit.

Reading through the Bible, we know that God is a patient God.  He continues to call His people to patience in order that we wait on his perfect will and timing.  Sometimes God calls us to wait on Him.

God will empower us while we wait.

All these were continually united in prayer, along with the women, including Mary the mother of Jesus, and His brothers. –Acts 1:14

Sometimes as I wait on God, standing still in his presence, I think that I am not really doing much. I feel useless in the waiting. This can not be farther from the truth!!

As one of my close friends puts it, “There are times of sowing and there are times of reaping.” Just because we might find ourselves in a time of sowing does not mean that that time of our life cannot be used for God’s glory. It is often in those times that God empowers and prepares us for the time of reaping.

The wait is worth it.

Suddenly a sound like that of a violent rushing wind came from heaven, and it filled the whole house where they were staying. And tongues, like flames of fire that were divided appeared to them and rested on each of them. Then they were all filled with the Holy Spirit and began to speak in different languages as the Spirit gave them ability of speech. –Acts 2:2-4

So those who accepted his (Peter’s) message were baptized, and that day about 3,000 people were added to them. –Acts 2:41

The wait is going to be worth it. Through every rejection letter, and every time I think that what I am doing doesn’t matter–it’s all going to be worth it. This doesn’t mean that when God finally tells you to move that it will be what you expect. Sometimes it might be the complete opposite of what you thought, but it will be worth it.

So, many of you are thinking: Krystal, this is all great, but right now I am in one of those waiting/still periods, and I don’t know what to do. What do I do while God tells me to wait?

  1. Know that God is God 

Currently, as I write this very sentence,  a canvas painting is hanging on the wall behind me. It was one of the many art pieces my sister done for me (thanks sis!) and it has a flower and the famous verse, “Be still and know that I am God,” from Psalm 46:10. It is a reminder  for me to wait for God, to know that his plans are much better than my own, and to remember that God knows me and I can know him, right now in this very moment. Everything else, whether it is ministry, school, or the exciting future, doesn’t measure up compared to my relationship with him.

In your waiting, I pray and encourage you to remember that God is God, and that he continues to draw you closer to himself, even in the midst the stillness and waiting.

2. Listen to what God is trying to teach you now.

So many times I think, as Christians, we forget the importance of a sowing time. The times of sowing should not be times we dread, but times that we rejoice in knowing that God can teach us something great. He can use these times of stillness to teach us things, sometimes even things that will help in the reaping time.

In the stillness, seek God’s wisdom about what he is trying to teach you. Don’t be so focused on not moving that you neglect to listen to God now.

3.Pray for God to give you an opportunity to move, but also trust in his will.

In the middle of the stillness, as you listen to what God is trying to tell you, don’t neglect praying about the future. God will one day call you to move. Like I mentioned above, it might not be in the way you expect, or even with the outcome you want, but nonetheless, he will call you to move.

In midst of waiting and listening to God, pray for God to give you an opportunity to move, but also pray that the Holy Spirit will direct your steps.

Are you currently in a time of stillness? What has God been teaching, or what has he taught you in the past, during one of those times? Let me know in the comments below! I’d love to hear from you!!

Much love,

Krystal 🙂

 

 

9 thoughts on “When God Tells You to Be Still”

  1. Oh my, Krystal…I get this! God does ask us to be still (and know that He is God) and it can be so hard! I’ve been waiting on Him for clear direction until finally I slowed down and heard Him say in my spirit, “Finish what you’ve started.” That goes back to a book He led me to start writing over a year ago. Why would He give me another step forward when I haven’t obeyed the last step He gave me?? This was a HUGE eye-opener to me. So, I went back, thinking this is going to be hard and I’m sure there will be another stack of rejections (but I see Him moving in ways I never expected…and giving me peace already if rejections do come).

    You mentioned getting one rejection and possibly another one coming…I feel your pain! But you just keep going!!!!! When God tells you to write, you keep writing. We have no idea all that is going on “behind the scenes” that He is working together for our good! He may be protecting you through the rejection or preparing a better “home” for the story He inspired you to write. Trust Him. I keep telling myself, “God always has a plan and it’s always better than mine.” I’m excited to see what plan He has for you and your writing! While you’re waiting, hold on to His Word as you’re doing and the hope He brings and know you’re not alone! (Sorry this was such a long response!! I tend to write nearly as much as I talk sometimes 🙂 ) God bless you as rest in Him and wait for His amazing plan to unfold before your eyes. (Psalm 37:7 “Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for Him.”)

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you so much for the reply!! (and I love long responses). It’s so hard sometimes to be still and listen for God’s direction, but like you said, He has a plan and it’s much better than mine!! Thank you for reading and the encouragement!! God bless.

      Liked by 3 people

  2. Krystal, this really blessed me!

    I’ve certainly been there; I feel you on the writing thing, too! I’m honestly still not sure where God is going to take my writing. All I know is that He told me to start.

    It does get discouraging at times, particularly when you think you’ve written something great, and you only get about 2 views 😄. I guess when our expectations aren’t met, we tend to get anxious and frustrated.

    I know one really valuable thing that God has taught me, though, and it’s this…the character that He’s building in me while I wait is actually much more valuable than what I’m waiting for. I hope that makes sense, and I hope it encourages you like you’ve encouraged me!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Krystal,
    Even though you are in a time of stillness, I think God is still using your writing to help others. This post came to me right when I needed to hear. I’m not even saying this to just be nice and supportive. This is literally what I needed to hear and I believe God sent it to me. I am enduring a similar situation, and I am wondering myself where God is directing me. Just as you say, it feels as though rejection is around every corner…In my love life, the realm of careers, etc. Frankly, I am feeling like I’m kind of stuck in a rut. The main thing that helps me though is always trusting God. Today I prayed to Him for guidance regarding this, and it appears that he sent it right here. Thank you so much.
    God bless.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I agree. The main thing that helps really is trusting in God, knowing that He knows what He is doing and learning to trust and rely on His perfect plan because it is much greater than we could ever imagine. Thank you so much for reading!

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

