Uncategorized

Wound Me

For the word of God is living and effective and sharper than any two-edged sword, penetrating as far as the separation of soul and spirit, joints and marrow. It is able to judge the ideas and thoughts of the heart. No creature is hidden from Him, but all things are naked and exposed to the eyes of Him to whom we must give an account. –Hebrews 4:12-13

When I was thinking and praying about what I wanted to do my next blog post about, I came across the verse above, and in the margin of my Bible, I wrote in big letters:

Wound me, Father.

As I read these verses and meditated on them, I was overwhelmed with the power of God’s Word. As someone who loves to write, I think it is so amazing that God decided to use written words to convey His story to us.

But I was also extremely convicted. So many times I turn to the Bible whenever I need a pick-me-up. I search page after page for something that would make feel better about myself and my current situation.

And I think there is a problem with that. Don’t get me wrong, God’s word does bring us happiness,  but if that is the only time we open up our Bibles, we’re missing the point. His word is not just a pick-me-up. It is not supposed to make us feel all fuzzy inside. The verse above sounds intimidating. It sounds painful. Separating joints and marrow…ouch!! God’s word isn’t there just to make us feel good. There are passages that I’ve read that are convicting. Passages that have pointed out areas of my life where I need to change. Passages that have hurt and wounded me.

James uses a beautiful illustration in his letter when he describes God’s word being like a mirror.

“But be doers of the word and not hearers only deceiving yourselves. Because if anyone is a hearer of the word and not a doer, he is like a man looking at his own face in a mirror. For he looks at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what kind of man he was. But the one who looks intently into the perfect law of freedom and perseveres in it, and is not a forgetful hearer but one who does good works–this person will be blessed in what he does.” –James 1:22-25

God’s word is like a mirror because the more we look into it, the more we read and study it, the more and more we realize our need for Christ. We become more aware of where God needs to work in our lives. We recognize how much we need to change. And suddenly, the Bible is more than a book we open when we want to feel better, it is a powerful living word that demands change from those who read it. It is a sharp chisel, that slowly chips away, turning us more and more like Jesus Christ.

So, how do we break the cycle? How do we live our lives in a testimony to the powerfulness of God’s holy word?

  1. Read God’s word daily, not just to make yourself feel better. Of course if you’re sad or depressed, etc., you should definitely turn to Scripture, but as believers, we should turn to it always. Every day. It should be our lifeline, our daily bread. And like I mentioned, the more we read and study and meditate on his word, the more open our eyes become to where we need to change.
  2. Pray. Prayer (and God’s word!) are the answer to everything. And in combination? There’s nothing more powerful. Pray during your quiet time every day. When you are meditating on certain passages, pray about them throughout the day. If you are convicted of something you need to change while reading God’s word, pray that He will help you to do it.
  3. Go to church. I know that you don’t have to go to church to be a Christian, but I will never apologize for encouraging believers to be involved with their local church. There is something powerful about hearing God’s word preached. Have you ever had those moments where you listen to a sermon and you’re thinking, “Is he talking about me?” or “How did he/she know that I was struggling with that?”
  4. Move. James tells us to be doers of the word, not only hearers. We must act on and change the areas of our lives where God’s word is commanding us to. If we don’t, it was all for nothing.

I hope this post has encouraged you to see the Bible for what it truly is, a powerful and living word. My hope is that as we read God’s Word, we will pray for God to wound us, that he will point out and chisel away the areas in our lives where we don’t align with him, molding us to be more like Jesus.

Thank you so much for reading, and let me know what you think in the comments below! Until next time,

–Krystal

1 thought on “Wound Me”

  1. This is awesome, Krystal! You are so right… the Bible is so much more than just a “pick-me-up”. It has indeed cut on me too, and those wounds are the most precious gifts I could ask for.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

