Uncategorized

Jesus, I surrender all.

Well folks, it’s officially 2017. A bright and shiny new year is before us, an empty book, an untold story waiting to be written in the pages of our lives. As I think and pray about what I want to do in 2017 (check out my resolutions here), God has been reminding me that my plans aren’t near as important as his.

This new year is his.

My life is his.

In this new year, am I going to allow God the front seat in my life? Am I going to fully allow him  to be my master, the Lord of my Life?

img_20170104_172539
Hebrew word: Adon (meaning master, superior or Lord). Similar to Adonai, which is a name of God.

 

I don’t know about you, but I often struggle with allowing God to be the Lord of my life. Sometimes I give him only portions of myself, but never completely surrender to his leading in my life. I let him touch and take over certain areas, but some parts I keep to myself and try my hardest to keep him away. I extremely struggle with allowing God to completely free me from those sins (my favorite sins) I know are wrong, but I still hold onto them because they bring me a false sense of comfort.

When I do that, when we do not allow God to take over every part of our lives, we are serving two masters.

No one can serve two masters, for either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and money. –Matthew 6:24

Then Jesus told his disciples, “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me.  For whoever would save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.” –Matthew 16:24-25

My other master is not money. It is myself. As Christians, we are taught to be a disciple of Christ, the first step is denying oneself. God wants to be the leader of our lives because he knows what’s best for us, like a parent who knows what’s best for his children. One of the awesome things about God is he is not a dictator. He doesn’t forcefully make his children submit their lives to him, but offers his leadership freely to those who wish to allow him into their lives.

Many people have words or phrases for the year. A word or a phrase that they hope to meditate and remember throughout the year. Last year, my word was “healing”. 2015 was an eye opener on how bad I was spiritually– how broken I was and how much  I needed Christ’s healing in 2016.

My word for 2017 is surrender.

Surrender.

I want to surrender anything and everything to Christ. I placed my life into his hands in the fifth grade, and I want to make good on that trade. I want to be so lost in him and his ways so that I can become less and less like the prideful and sinful Krystal, and more like him.

My prayer for 2017 is that I will be a good servant of the Lord, that everything I do will honor and reflect my Master. I pray that whether I am blogging, writing, reading Scripture, or doing school work, I remember that he is Lord of all. I pray that this year I learn to completely surrender all of my life to Jesus because he surrendered himself for me. It is the only way to truly find life. Will you join me?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Jesus, I surrender all.”

  1. That’s a lovely way to start the year. Surrender. I am also on that road right now and learning to surrender all and trust Him with everything.
    Keep pressing on, Krystal! God is honored by that humble prayer.
    God bless! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

