Uncategorized

Reflections in Revelation

Do you ever have those moments where you’re reading Scripture and the passage is so beautiful that your heart starts hammering real hard, you get real excited, you feel like you’re going to cry, or a combination of all of them all at once? Talk about the power of God’s Word!!

For the past several months, I have been reading through the book of Revelation in my quiet time, and I have felt the power of God’s Word so many times. It was my first time reading it all the way through. There have been so many beautiful passages in Revelation that have left me in tears and my Bible now looks like battle plans because of all the notes and markings on my favorite passages.

Some people when they hear about the book of Revelation, their mind automatically goes to gloom and doom and all the fear that comes from the ending of the world. There are several creepy and gloomy parts, but I think it’s a beautiful book about hope. This book, like the entirety of Scripture, provides us with hope that not only is God in control, but that He has defeated Satan at the cross and will ultimately destroy him in the very end.

From the letters, to the Throne Room, to the ultimate defeat of Satan, there were so many goose-bump moments for me, but one of my favorite passages is the very end of Revelation with the creation of the New Heaven and the New Earth.

Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away, and the sea no longer existed. I also saw the Holy City, new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared like a bride adorned for her husband. Then I heard a loud voice from the throne:

“Look! God’s dwelling is with humanity, and He will live with them. They will be His people, and God himself will be with them and be their God. He will wipe away every tear from their eyes. Death will no longer exist; grief, crying, and pain will exist no longer, because the previous things have passed away.”

Then the One seated on the throne said, “Look! I am making all things new. He also said, “Write, because these words are faithful and true.” And He said to me, “It is done! I am the Alpha and the Omega, the Beginning and the End. I will give water as a gift to the thirsty from the Spring of life. The victor will inherit these things and I will be his God and he will be My son.” –Rev. 21:1-7

WOW.

The end of the world sounds scary, but as I was reading through Revelation, I realized the beauty of an ending. Our life on this Earth is but a mere vapor, and because of it, we are called to run the race, to finish the good fight, and we are promised a prize greater than we could ever imagine. I pray that in every situation, we remember that God is greater and that his plans are mightier. I pray that while we are dealing with the heartaches and hardships of the world, we remember the promises of Scripture. This is our prize at the end–to be fully and completely reunited with Jesus in the New Creation, where there is no sin, no grief, and no tears.

WOW. Goosebumps.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

