Uncategorized

As Sharp As Iron (A letter to my friends).

 

Dear Friends,

 

As November comes to a close, and I finish out the month of reflecting on the blessings God has given me, I cannot begin to tell you how many times each one of your names came up.  You all are one of the greatest blessings I have received, and I am thankful that I can call each one of you a friend.

It wasn’t that I didn’t have friends in high school. I had wonderful friends in high school, and if any of them are reading this, I am thankful for the years of amazing friendship and I pray that you have met and befriended some great people in your latest stage of life. However, as life moves on, I am thankful that I have met each one of you in one of my craziest stages of life–college.

Thank you for choosing me. We don’t go to a huge university, but you still could have been friends with anybody else; yet somehow you chose me. Thank you for choosing to be my friend, to daily do life with me, and to love and care for me. Thank you for choosing me not because of some idea of what I can do for you, but because of me, who I am. The dorky, awkward, and weird fangirl that I am, you still chose me.

Thank you for having fun with me. We have had our share of adventures, whether it is going on crazy deathtrap hayrides, getting technically stuck on the side of a mountain and having to wait for AAA to come, or just watching cheesy romantic comedies. Thank you for always being up for a good laugh.  Some of the best and most fun memories I have have  been with you, and I am thankful for more adventures to come. These are the moments I will look back on when I am eighty and laugh/cry about.

Thank you for encouraging me. You lift me up when I feel like I cannot do something. Thank you for always being there when I need to talk, even if it’s midnight and you have an early class in the morning. Thank you for constantly pushing me to do my best, even when I think it isn’t enough.

And out of all the things I could be thankful for, I am thankful for you because you all have taught me what Jesus meant by friendship. I know what the biblical definition of friendship looks like because you show me that everyday.

Iron sharpens iron,
    and one man sharpens another.

— Proverbs 27:17

The idea of iron sharpening iron always brings me chills. It reminds me of nails on a chalkboard. It reminds me of how friendships are not supposed to be all sunshine and daisies. Those moments are great, but they are not the true picture of friendship. Sometimes friendship can be painful. We are not perfect and we sure do have our ups and downs, but I am thankful that you continue to be my friends. Thank you for continually pushing me in my faith, encouraging me to grow in my walk with Christ. Thank you for being an example of Christ’s greatness and love, and for pushing me to imitate Christ to those around me.

Thank you for making me a better Christian, for encouraging me to live out my life for Christ daily. As iron sharpens iron, thank you for sharpening me, and I pray that I sharpen you too.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

