Uncategorized

When We Don’t Understand God’s Word

There are passages in the Bible that I could read over and over again and still get something fresh and new. Then, there are passages I read that I have no clue about. You probably know what I’m talking about. Those passages even after you consult your commentaries, your study Bible notes, Google, and your pastor, you still seriously don’t know what God is saying in His Word.

We are called as Christians to cling to Scripture, but what does one do if they don’t understand what God is telling them or what they are supposed to get from it?

  1. We need to first remember what the other main purpose of the Bible is. As Christians, sometimes I think we put too much focus on what we are supposed to do with it, instead of what we actually read and who wrote it. The Bible is an instruction manual, right? Though that might be true, we can’t forget that the primary focus of the Bible is that God is revealing himself to us through his written word. It’s more than just an instruction manual. The Bible isn’t about us, but about the Author, and we have to quit trying to shove God’s word into a list on a clipboard about what we should and what we shouldn’t do.
  2. Pray. Sometimes we forget that prayer is a very powerful thing. It is only through the power of the Holy Spirit can we interpret and truly understand God’s Word.  Often when I don’t understand a certain passage, I’ll just lift it up to God, asking him to show me what he wants me to know. Sometimes He gets back to me, other times he insists I wait, and that’s okay. It’s okay to not understand everything.
  3. Keep reading. It is okay to not understand everything in the Bible, but don’t give up trying to understand it. Just because we don’t completely understand a few verses doesn’t mean we should quit reading. The Bible is one whole story. Often when I don’t understand a passage, later I’ll read a different passage and it’ll help me better understand the passage I was confused about.

 

I know sometimes when I’m reading my Bible and don’t seem to quite understand exactly what is going on, I seem to get frustrated. I encourage all of us as we continue to read His Word, we also continue to seek the Author. Through time, prayer, and a little patience, I truly believe God will walk us through it.

 

The grass withers and the flowers fall, but the Word of our God endures forever.

— Isaiah 40:8 (NIV)

 

 

Thank you so much for reading!! God bless!

Leave a Reply

